1

I have run the Sitecore Express Migration Tool 3.1 to migrate a 7.2 instance to 9.0 and I am very confused by the different diff and disabled migrated config files. I have read the EMT guide (specifically section 4.1.1) but I still don't understand what I am supposed to do with these migrated config files. Here are different examples...

From the web.diff.config.disabled file:

  <log4net>
<appender name="LogFileAppender">
  <!--EXPRESS MIGRATION: The node has been deleted-->
  <!--<encoding value="utf-8" />-->
</appender>
<appender name="WebDAVLogFileAppender">
  <!--EXPRESS MIGRATION: The node has been deleted-->
  <!--<encoding value="utf-8" />-->
</appender>
<appender name="SearchLogFileAppender">
  <!--EXPRESS MIGRATION: The node has been deleted-->
  <!--<encoding value="utf-8" />-->
</appender>
<appender name="CrawlingLogFileAppender">
  <!--EXPRESS MIGRATION: The node has been deleted-->
  <!--<encoding value="utf-8" />-->
</appender>
<!--EXPRESS MIGRATION: The node has been deleted-->
<!--<appender name="PublishingLogFileAppender" type="log4net.Appender.SitecoreLogFileAppender, Sitecore.Logging"><file value="$(dataFolder)/logs/Publishing.log.{date}.txt" /><appendToFile value="true" /><layout type="log4net.Layout.PatternLayout"><conversionPattern value="%4t %d{ABSOLUTE} %-5p %m%n" /></layout><encoding value="utf-8" /></appender>-->
<!--EXPRESS MIGRATION: The node has been deleted-->
<!--<logger name="Sitecore.Diagnostics.Publishing" additivity="false"><level value="INFO" /><appender-ref ref="PublishingLogFileAppender" /></logger>-->
<logger name="Sitecore.Diagnostics.Search">
  <!--EXPRESS MIGRATION: The node has been added-->
  <encoding value="utf-8" />
</logger>
<logger name="Sitecore.Diagnostics.Crawling">
  <!--EXPRESS MIGRATION: The node has been added-->
  <encoding value="utf-8" />
</logger>

What is this telling me? I see a number of The node has been deleted comments. And I see a few The node has been added comments. I don't understand what action I am supposed to take here on my new migrated 9.0 instance. Am I supposed to go and add or remove things from my 9.0 instance? I guess I don't understand what The node has been deleted and The node has been added mean.

Here are some more examples:

    <!--EXPRESS MIGRATION: The node has been added-->
    <httpRedirect enabled="false" destination="" httpResponseStatus="Permanent" />
    <!--EXPRESS MIGRATION: The node has been added-->
    <httpProtocol>
      <customHeaders>
        <add name="X-Frame-Options" value="SAMEORIGIN" />
      </customHeaders>
    </httpProtocol>
    <!--EXPRESS MIGRATION: The node has been added-->
    <rewrite>
      <rules>
        <rule name="LowerCaseRule1" enabled="false" stopProcessing="true">
          <match url="[A-Z]" ignoreCase="false" />
          <action type="Redirect" url="{ToLower:{URL}}" />
        </rule>
      </rules>
    </rewrite>

The other part are all of the disabled config files in the include folder. I imagine that I need to go through those one at a time and decide if I want to still include those in the 9.0 instance.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.