I'm just going through the Sitecore documentation for setting up a Visual Studio project.
One of the steps is to update the global.asax file in your solution:
In the Visual Solution folder, copy the global.asax file from the Website folder of the Sitecore installation, overwriting the global.asax Visual Studio added when you created the project.
I'm just wondering why this is necessary? If we delete the global.asax file - will it cause Intellisense issues with VS or something similar? We can use WebActivator to run code on start-up so we don't need to overwrite this file.
If the global.asax is required fr some reason, could we set it not to publish (e.g. set the Build Action) rather than copying it from Sitecore.