If you have a page item that is published, that page item will always override any SXA redirect map.
You have 2 options:
- Delete the item
- Unpublish the item
Generally, my workflow is this:
If I am creating a 301 redirect, this is permanent. I'm just going to delete the item from the content tree and not worry about it. Once the item is deleted, then the redirect map will start working as expected.
If I'm creating a 302 or something else temporary or if I think the content page will be needed, or if because of compliance we need to keep old versions for a period of time, I will just set the page to be unpublished and that will also make sure the redirect map will work.
the tl/dr; is, you need to remove the page from the published site for your redirect to work.