3

Scenario: I'm on a page in Experience Editor. The page consists of some components in them.

Step 1: I press "Lock and edit" in the notifications.

Step 2: I now edit in a component on the page and save.

A new version is added to the component & page.

Now both the old and the new version of the page point to the new version of the component. Which isn't the result I'm expecting.

Why does version 1 of the page have version 2 of the component?

What I want is versions of the page to remember what versions they had of their renderings data source.

  • 4
    I'm afraid it's not how Sitecore works. Sitecore layout fields do not include the information about datasource version. And this cannot be changed easily. – Marek Musielak Nov 30 '16 at 13:12
-2

This seems to be standard behavior for Sitecore. Having said that, there is a setting called WebEdit.EditAllVersions. By default, it is set to true. I've not experimented with changing this to false but you could try that. The comments for this setting read:

<!--
  WEB EDIT ALL VERSIONS
            Allows switch to the shared layout of the page.
            Default value: true

-->
<setting name="WebEdit.EditAllVersions" value="true" patch:source="Sitecore.ExperienceEditor.config"/>

This might be related to the issue you're experiencing.

  • 2
    That setting just switches whether Shared or Final layout can be edited in the Experience Editor, it will not affect versioning. – jammykam Nov 30 '16 at 13:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.