Sitecore advises that you should sync a bucket after you delete an item from it.
I have a mass import process that adds/updates/deletes items. The bucket contains hundreds of thousands of items and I would prefer not to do a full bucket sync at the end.
I've decompiled the Buckets code and it looks like syncing just moves unbucketable items to the root and deletes empty folders. There is a IsSynced flag in the pipeline args but I don't think it's used for anything.
So my questions are:
Is the advice to sync after deleting items just a housekeeping thing (cleaning up empty folders), or does it have some material impact on the functionality of the bucket?
Could I just implement some logic to clean up the ancestor folders at the point that I delete an item, or is there some other magic that the sync process does that I'd be missing?